Image

Took some photographs of some of the lesser known animals needing new homes at The RSPCA. The Small Animal unit looks after everything from mice to guinea pigs to house rabbits, with some more exotic individuals in between ~ like Carlotta the Chinchilla.

Image

I tend to work with one light and a simple table top with a material infinity back-drop and shoot as close as I can. For most of my subjects here patience was the key. This is Flotsam the guinea pig who sat very patiently for me.

Image

Bishop here, was not so content to remain still for his close-up and this shot is the result of a seconds curiosity amidst a frenzy of scampering.

Image

My final sitter was a special request from Helen who looks after the small animal unit. She has been hand-rearing two baby rabbits who were brought in after their nest was disturbed. They have responded well to puppy milk and are begining to feed themselves. We wish Munchkin and Moley well.

